Today I learned how to add rhythm to my poem.  Read this!  Snap along to the rhythm of the poem.  If you can't snap, ask your parents to snap for you.

In My Slow Snail Shell

In my slow snail shell
I heard munching, munching, munching
In my slow snail shell
I heard chitter, chitter, chat.

In my slow snail shell I heard
digging digging digging
In my slow snail shell I heard
pitter, pitter, pat.

In my slow nail shell I heard
Singing in the trees.
Buzzing in the breeze.
Scratching in the holes.
Dancing with the moles.

In my slow snail shell I heard
wiggle, wiggle, wiggle
In my slow snail shell I heard
splat, splat, splat.

In my slow snail shell I heard
flapping, flapping, flapping
In my slow snail shell I heard
sounds like that.

Auntie Jenny
4/6/2010 03:02:36 am

Claire,

Hi again! I like this one too! Good job on building on your first poem. Can't wait to see the next one!

Love,

Auntie Jenny

Reply
Angie & Adriane
4/6/2010 03:12:40 am

We love your poem!! It was so fun to read out loud. We like how the "sound" words made pictures of everything the snail encountered.

Great job, Claire, and keep up the good work. Looking forward to your next post! :)

Reply
Pita
4/6/2010 05:55:14 am

Hi Claire!

Again with another GREAT poem! Like your Auntie Jenny I can't wait for the next one.

Love,
Pita

Reply
Garret
4/6/2010 11:39:09 am

Great job with your poem! You added to the difficulty from your other poem...it can be hard to come up with words that fit the rhythm!

Reply
Lori
4/6/2010 09:10:40 pm

I love this extended version of the poem! I wonder if you like hearing the sounds from your slow shell or if it is toooo noisy :-)

Reply



Leave a Reply.